Attending Grad School Across the Pond

12377733_10208318711748070_1828579230843272198_o

I have had a plan since my sophomore year of high school. I did well in high school, got in to a good university and am going to graduate. If I stuck to the original plan, I would get a job and an apartment and start living as a pseudo-adult.

I was definitely not planning on graduate school.

However, I am pleased to announce that I will be attending the University of Leicester in England in the fall to get an MSc in Human Resource Management and Training. Yes, I did say in England. My plan has been altered severely from my original, but every good story needs some editing. That’s what you do in college, you learn and grow- you edit and revise, you look at a project with fresh eyes.

I’ve absolutely loved my English major. Now, I know the connection between English and Human Resources may seem to be a stretch, but it is not. I have learned to collaborate with and understand all different types of people here. My English major has pushed me outside of the box in ways that I didn’t think were possible. It’s not just reading and research essays. This major, my classes, my peers, have shaped me into who I am today. Wittenberg is near and dear to my heart, because of all the support that I have felt in these past 3.5 years, academically and otherwise, I am able to go out on a limb, to move to a different country for at least a year and pursue a Masters degree. I know I can do it. I have the confidence to live and dream in a way that I wouldn’t have dared to 4 years ago.

I honestly have no idea what graduate school in England is going to be like. This control freak has accepted and even embraced the unknown. I’m excited; I’m ready for new challenges. Maybe I won’t remember the main characters and themes present in On the Road in a year, or all the Emily Dickinson poem titles I had to memorize last year (Wild Nights! Wild Nights!), but I will remember that with a lot of hard work, life will unfold as it should. It’s not going to happen in the way I think it should happen. That’s what I hope to pass on to all the students and friends I am departing from come May 14th. Life isn’t going to go exactly to your perfect plan in your head. I believe with all of my heart that it’s not supposed to. Work hard, dream big, and do remember to be open to all the possibilities. Who knows, you might just end up in England.

–  Amy DeBruycker ’16

Leave a Reply

