Saying Goodbye: Carl Burgason ’16

12342369_794512930657479_6975711723965188639_n


“I literally can’t put into words how awesome this department has been, but I’ll try.

Four years ago, English was my least favorite class in high school. I found writing 5-paragraph essays such as what’s ‘the theme’ of Huck Finn to be both boring and obvious. Fast forward to freshman year, where taking English 101 was just another hoop I had to jump through to get that ‘liberal arts experience; everyone kept telling me about. But after a few weeks (and a few A’s on papers) I realized, thanks to Dr. Scot Hinson, English was something I rather enjoyed. Four years later I’ve worked in the department office, helped plan colloquia, presented a paper at a conference, and gone to Stratford twice. I love this department and the people in it so much, and cannot begin to thank them for everything.”

Leave a Reply

