Meet the SAGE Members: Spring 2023

Each year, the English department faculty are given the chance to elect students to SAGE: the Student Advisory Group for English. These students then act as liaisons between the faculty and the students, helping with important department decisions, events, recruitment, and more. In Spring of 2023, four new students were elected to SAGE: Abby Alcorn, Christian Nicewaner, Kristina Withem, and DeLaney Jordan.

Without further ado, meet the Spring 2023 SAGE group!

Tiana Hughes – President

Hi! I’m Tiana Hughes, and I’m a senior at Wittenberg. I’m studying both English and psychology here and absolutely love both majors. I joined SAGE in 2021 and became president last year. I’ve been involved with a range of extracurriculars in my four years here at Witt, primarily with organizations such as The Torch, greek life, and the Residential Housing Association, but as of right now I work as an English department assistant, am a student manager at the library, and am busy at work on my two theses. Outside of academics and other work, my life is an assortment of hiking and other outdoor activities, attending concerts, reading and writing, doing yoga, caring for my cat, Piper, making jewelry, and creating meaningful memories with my partner, friends, and family. Right now, I’m really into reading stories and non-fiction that trace processes of healing and recovery. The authors that I really latched onto after studying them in class are Mary Wollstonecraft and William Wordsworth, but any Romantic-era poet has my heart.

Christian Nicewaner – Co-President

Hello! My name is Christian Nicewaner and I am a sophomore English and Computer Science double major from Springfield, Ohio. When I’m not in class, I spend a lot of time on campus wandering with friends and enjoying the nature and trees that dress the campus. I’m pretty big into cinema, art, philosophy, video games, music, and of course, literature. I play a couple different instruments but mainly guitar if I ever have time! I go to way too many metal and hardcore punk shows where we beat the crap out of each other and get angry. I live and breathe horror and it is my most beloved genre in just about any medium. Nature might just be my favorite thing ever and I love to hike and meditate in the woods, enjoying the breeze on my skin and the many sounds that surround me when I’m in such a sanctuary. I think my favorite author that I’ve studied here at Witt would have to be Alfred Tennyson. His poems had an immense and profound effect on me and his masterpiece “In Memoriam A.H.H.” helped me to persevere and crawl my way out of a long bout of grief from a friend I lost. Studying him while guided by Dr. Inboden was one of the most profound experiences I have had in my twenty years of existence and I highly recommend his work. I chose to study English because I am obsessed with the world and the magic that lies within it. I also study Computer Science because I have an equal love for technology and taking everything around me apart and seeing how it all works. Cheers!

Bella Fiorito

My name is Bella Fiorito and I’m a senior English & History major with a minor in Archaeology. I’m from Cincinnati, Ohio and plan to return after I graduate this Spring before I eventually pursue a master’s degree in Library Science. Outside of class, I work in the Writing Center and am the Lead Editor for Witt’s nonfiction journal, Spectrum. I enjoy reading a little bit of everything but science fiction and fantasy are where my passion for reading began and during my time at Witt I’ve loved learning about authors like Mary Shelley whose work has such massive influence on the books I read today. In my free time, I can usually be found holed up in my room crocheting or researching obscure bits of history.

Kevin Marshall II

I’m from Springfield, Ohio. I graduated in 2003 from Springfield South High School. I’m an English major with a specialization in AYA Literature. I have a family of 6 so when I’m not working or studying, I spend my time with them — essentially making up for lost time from being a full-time student and employee. ANY class with Professor Erin Hill is GOLD. There are teachers and then there are TEACHAS!  My favorite poem would have to be “What Teachers Make” by Slam Poet extraordinaire Taylor Mali. Also, my favorite AYA book has to be For Every One by Jason Reynolds, if you haven’t read it yet I strongly suggest that you do. Or just watch this video of him reciting it  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOHxiN9wsfY. Keep pushing to be what you want to be. I say this all the time — there’s an empty jail that someone thought had my name on it.

Jo Tucker-Perkins

Hello, I’m Jo Tucker-Perkins (She/They), class of 2024. I’m an English major with minors in Creative Writing and Journalism. I’m involved with the Torch, Sigma Tau Delta, and the RPG Guild. I’m a disabled single mom. My favorite author so far this year is Sara Ahmed. Other than work, I make costumes for charity and grab animals off the street for vet care. Really, I’m just happy to be here at my age!

Abby Alcorn

Hey guys, my name is Abby Alcorn and I’m a Sophomore. Currently I’m an English major with minors in History and Religion. I plan on furthering my education to grad school to get my masters in library science so I can become a librarian, yes to become an official librarian you need a degree. I’m a Kappa Delta and I try to be involved on campus to break out of my shell, or as I like to call my room my cave. I have a dog on campus named Winston, he’s scared of people, elevators, loud noises, occasionally the wind, etc. I love to read, I typically binge read for a couple weeks then don’t have time outside of classwork to read for a month.

Kristina Withem

My name is Kristina Withem, a first-year student here at Wittenberg. I am majoring in English with minors in creative writing and women’s studies. I am a part of GSDA, NAMI, the Writer’s Guild. I currently work for student involvement and admissions. I love reading and writing, and I have recently taken up knitting. This past year I got to study Jane Austen’s novels in a film class with Dr. Inboden.

DeLaney Jordan

I’m DeLaney Jordan/DJ and I’m a freshman here at Witt. I’m an English major with Education and Creative Writing minors. On campus I work in admissions, so I get the opportunity to give tours to incoming students most every day 😊 Outside of work, I am involved in clubs such as Brown Girls Club, Shades of Pearls, The Torch, WUSEA, and (as of recent) a member of Alpha Xi Delta. In my free time I love to do yoga, get coffee, read, write, and hang out with my friends as much as I can! My favorite book I’ve read since starting class at Witt is “Little Faith” by Nikolas Butler.

You can read more about SAGE and get to know members from previous years at: https://www.wittenberg.edu/academics/english/sage

Leave a comment