Meet the Members of Sage: Fall ‘23! 

With the new year, comes the time to meet and get to know the members of Sage here at Witt! These students come together as liaisons between the faculty and the students of the English Department, helping with important department decisions, events, recruitment, and more.  

Without further ado, here are your Fall 2023 SAGE members! 

Christian Nicewaner – Co-President 

Dark greetings, everyone! My name is Christian Nicewaner of the class of 2025 and I am an English and Computer Science major. I grew up here in Springfield and chose Wittenberg because of its familiarity, small size, beautiful campus, extraordinary faculty, and Victorian architecture. I am co-President of SAGE, a member of the Writer’s Guild, and Programming Club. My future goals are to live a good and virtuous life, first and foremost, and to get a nice and cozy house in the forest somewhere with my girlfriend. I am going into the Defense Industry and currently work for a contractor near the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. The current plan is to have the money from that career funnel into my future interests, like the exploration of literature, maybe making a movie, writing a book, traveling, and really just living the best life I can. I am a huge fan of horror films and the horror genre in general. I also love music, play guitar and empty my wallet on metal and hardcore punk shows at least once a month and love getting beat up and bloodied in the mosh pit. I also adore nature, scenic walks and hikes, and breathing in the wonders of mother nature and the earth itself. Psychology and Philosophy are very fun to explore on the side as well. I am obsessed with ALL things Gothic. Some of my favorite books/works are Dracula, The Haunting of Hill House, Walden, Paradise Lost, The Hero with a Thousand Faces, The Conspiracy Against the Human Race, Middlemarch, The Idiot, Nevernight, In Memoriam, essays by Ralph Waldo Emerson, and much, much more. I hope to see you around!  

Kristina Withem– Co-President 

My name is Kristina Withem. I go by they/she pronouns and am a current sophomore. I am an English major with minors in creative writing and women’s studies. I have been involved with SAGE since spring semester last year and have taken up the title of Co-President this year. I also have recently joined the Alpha Xi Delta sorority. In addition to this, I am also working in the Writing Center, the English department, and as a peer mentor. My favorite genre to read is fantasy—specifically Greek mythology retellings. My favorite books are Circe by Madeline Miller and Stone Blind by Natalie Haynes. I look forward to all the things SAGE is going to achieve this year! 

Danny Bean 

Hi! My name is Danny Bean, and I’m a senior at Wittenberg. I’m a Poli Sci and Philosophy double major with too many minors—but English is one of them! My favorite genre of book is realistic fiction. My favorite book is a tie between Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man and Gustavo Flaubert’s Madame Bovary. My favorite place to read—although I’ve never technically done this—is in a bay window staring outside as it rains. 

Reagan Simpson 

Hi everyone! My name is Reagan Simpson (she/her), I’m in the class of 2025, and I’m an English major with minors in Women’s Studies and Creative Writing. I’m from Springfield (townie) and I’m involved with Kappa Delta, GSDA, NAMI, the Wittenberg Writers Guild, Admissions, the Writing Center, and probably several other clubs I can’t think of! My favorite genre is fantasy or romance, but I also recently fell in love with poetry, specifically sonnets and romance poetry. My favorite place to read is probably outside on a cool sunny afternoon laying on a blanket or late at night with soft yellow light from a lamp or fire. I’m super excited to be a part of SAGE and give back to the major that has done so much for me while at Witt! 

 

DeLaney (DJ) Jordan

Hi! I’m DeLaney/DJ Jordan! I’m an English major with a Creative Writing minor. I’m the Executive Student Ambassador for the Office of Admissions, a Writing Center Advisor, and a member of Alpha Xi Delta alongside Kristina! I’m also a member of the Writers Guild and the Swift Society. I love cheesy romance! Emily Henry is my absolute favorite author right now! My favorite place to read is anywhere I can throw on some headphones, have a coffee and just read for hours. I joined SAGE because I think there is so much value in the English major. So many people will tell you there is nothing to do with it, but it is the complete opposite. There are so many opportunities for English majors, and I want to be a part of the strengthening the department! 🙂

James Kazy 

Hello! I’m James Kazy, I’m a freshman with an English major and possible Education minor. I’m apart of SAGE, WUSO/The Torch, and I’m on the Cheer team! My favorite genres to read are personal narratives, romance and horror. My favorite place to read is the library, it just feels so much more productive. My favorite book is It by Stephan King. Certainly a type of book but I love the communities that come from reading together.

Caitlyn Tarney 

Hi! I’m Caitlyn Tarney! I’m a sophomore with an English major and Journalism minor. I write for the Torch on campus. My favorite genre is mystery and my favorite book is The Diviners by Libba Bray. A really nice coffee shop is one of the best places to read. I joined SAGE to work with my fellow English people. I wanted to work with the department to plan the best events and opportunities for us and our community.

Carmella Haueter 

Hi! I’m Carmella Haueter. I’m class of 2027. Although I’m only minoring in English, I’m a Biology major. I also have a creative writing minor. On campus, I’m a part of the Union Board, the Swifty Society and I’m the Book Club Vice President. My favorite genres are fantasy and romance, which ties in very nicely with my favorite book, The Song of Achilles. My favorite place to read is the Hollow.

 

Hannah Alexander

Hey! I’m Hannah Alexander, I’m the class of 2027, and I’m majoring in English. I’m involved in lots of things on campus but most importantly, the Union Board, Book Club (President!) and I’m a tour guide. My absolute favorite genres are romance and up-lit. My favorite book is Little Fires Everywhere, and I love reading anywhere that has coffee.

We hope you enjoyed getting to know us, look out for some fun English content coming soon! Have a lovely rest of your day! 

-Reagan Simpson 

Leave a comment